I Just Can’t Get Enough (of that raw fermented stuff…)

Published January 27, 2012 by Polana Fowdrey

So, I’ve done Kimchi, Sauerkraut and Water Kefir. I’ve bought live probiotic powder and turned my hand to raw cheese; what’s next?

Yogurt, of course! This is something I will find very useful in my raw dishes. (Especially at breakfast, where I’m trying out things-that-are-not-smoothies!)

I’ve been doing my research and decided that first I will try Oat Yogurt. I’ve not done this before, so it will be a 24 hour experiment. I will let you know how it turns out!

Here’s what I’ve done:

In a ceramic bowl, I mixed:

2 cups wholegrain oats (I only had rolled oats but whole oats would be preferable as they’ve not been processed.)

3 cups water

the contents of 2 probiotic capsules

I’ve stirred the mixture together and covered it. Now I need to leave it  to stand at room temperature for 24 hours.

Tomorrow night I will take a look and see whether the mixture needs blending to make it smooth and creamy, or whether it is fine as it is.

I’ll blog my results of this experiment tomorrow!

UPDATE: 24 Hours later.

I uncovered my oat mixture and to be honest it just looked like uncooked porridge. I tasted it and there was none of the sourness I have been led to expect.

I decided to blend the whole mixture and add a couple more probiotic capsules (the powder from the inside) and leave it in the bowl for another 24 hours.

So, a bit disappointing really, but tomorrow might yield better results. Patience Poli, patience…

UPDATE 2: Another 24 hours later.

The yogurt looks a lot more like yogurt now and is rather sour to taste – more like I was hoping for.

I gave it a good stir and it looked right, so I added some frozen strawberries, soaked cashews and dried cranberries.

I now have a lovely yogurty breakfast, which I will have in the morning.

UPDATE 3: The following morning.

Yum! This is delicious!

Now I know how to do it, here’s the recipe:

Fruity Breakfast Yogurt.

Equipment:

bowl, blender

Ingredients:

2 cups Oats

3 cups Water

4 Probiotic capsules

Strawberries

Cranberries

Cashew nuts

Agave Nectar

Method:

Soak the oats in the water. Add the contents of the probiotic capsules.

Cover the oats and leave for 24 – 48 hours at room temperature. This depends on the temperature of your home. It will take longer in Winter.

Soak the cashew nuts for several hours or overnight.

Blend the oat/water mixture and pour into a bowl.

Add the cashew nuts, strawberries and cranberries (these are to taste so no precise amounts are given.)

Add a little agave nectar to sweeten if required.

Serves 4 – 6.

4 comments on “I Just Can’t Get Enough (of that raw fermented stuff…)

  • I’ve never heard of this! Sounds really interesting-I can’t wait to read how it turns out. Thus far, my fermentation adventures have included lacto-fermented vegetables, Kombucha (which I now always have going), and saurkraut (but I think I did that one wrong and made myself a little sick. luckily living overseas has given me a pretty iron stomach). I really want to try Kimchi, going to check out your recipe for that right after this!

  • Thanks Poli! I’ve been experimenting with yogurt. So far I’ve just done it with oats they way I’ve done it with milk – heat to 45C and let sit in a warm, quiet place overnight. I run my oats through water in a clean cotton sock and then squeeze out the ‘milk’ to make the yogurt, but I don’t have a blender right now. When I have the right equipment I might try sprouting oat groats, dehydrating them, making them into flour and using that to make oat milk, but that’s a long way off.
    I will try at room temp to save electricity. I was under the impression that the bacteria needed that temp to move and multiply, but if they worked for you, they’ll work for me.

  • Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research on this. We got a book from our area library but I think I learned more from this post. I am very glad to see such fantastic info being shared freely out there.

  • Leave a Reply

